Ex-husband is hacking me under Webroot's radar. Can you all find him?

• 27 April 2018
  • 7 replies

Userlevel 1
Hi, Webroot Community,

I'm a longtime Webroot user. I'm also a devoted mom and was a loyal wife. I'm not really a computer person -- or, I didn't think I was... before. I'm a teacher by training, and also a writer. I'm a rule-follower, a quiet person, and utterly ethical. I'm not a computer geek by nature, but am becoming one by necessity.

My ex-husband is wealthy, powerful, and a computer geek by training. He is ALWAYS on the computer. He works on it, cheats on it, and lives on it being generally dastardly in various ways. He's well-connected, and protected. He was horrible to us, and it's all on public record. The three kids and I finally got freed of him (after six years fleeing in court and via social service agencies), but now he's stalking us again -- online. He appears to be accessing us, still, through our computers.

The local Sheriff called last year to warn us we were victims of postal theft and probably identity theft. My bank account about 8-9 months later proved this to be true. I don't know if it was connected to him.

My computer says there's no problem of any sort, and so does Webroot. BUT, I see that my es is following me under Webroot's radar somehow. 

How do I know? My gut, and...

In the last month, my email (Yahoo -- yeah, I know... ) started locating out of my ex's obscure little hometown, with weather posts and singles ads for his no-one-else-would-care hometown info. I'm not the singles-ad type. My ads used to promote parenting, sports, politics -- normal stuff -- and from MY own location.

When I change my passwords, Yahoo and Google address ME as the unauthorized user.