Get to know the community - Antus67

Userlevel 7
Badge +56
  • Retired Webrooter
  • 6752 replies
Time to get to know a bit more about another core member of the Webroot community - ? (aka Anthony).  He's one of the most prolific people in the Security Industry News forum, as well as being an all-around great guy and helpful community member.  Here's some questions I asked him so we could get to know him better:

Tell us a bit about yourself

I was born and raised in Cleveland, Ohio and attended a Catholic grade school then graduated from public high school in 1965. I was a musician and played the clarinet and saxophone. During my high school years I played in a band on the weekends and was able to make extra money that way. I wanted to attend the Cleveland Institute of Music however neither I nor my parents could afford the cost.

During this time the Vietnam War was going on and I received my draft notice. I decided to enlist for 3 years in the Army and was assigned to the ASA (Army Security Agency). I had the good fortune of traveling to quite a few countries during my tour. I met my future wife in Turkey and in 1968 we were married in Waukegan, Illinois. I was discharged from the service a month later.  We have been married for 47 years and have 2 boys and a girl and 10 grandchildren.

How did you get interested in computer security?

I worked in the office of a transportation company for 45 years.  I worked with computers and watched as they progressed to the Internet. Within the company one of my duties was security and making sure none of our data was compromised by our competition. I trained other new employees on the computer systems and what needed to be done on a daily basis.

How did you discover Webroot and the community?

One of my passions was testing out antivirus software and firewalls and, well, Webroot was on my list.