Luminaries Survey: Business documentation results

• 24 September 2018
  • 9 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +4
  • Webroot Employee
  • 18 replies
Hello world!

Moto here. I’m a customer experience designer here at Webroot. I work behind the scenes to improve the way anyone works with Webroot outside of our products.
For two weeks in August I ran a survey asking the Webroot Luminaries to choose between several treatment options for the Webroot product guides. We got a lot of unexpected participation, so I wanted to share the results. I’m hoping we can continue the discussion in the comments here.

Tone: Simple bullet points and conversational
81% preferred that we use compact sentences with bullet points for easy scanning. From the comments, we should write in a personal and conversational tone.

Define industry or Webroot terms: Very yes.
We showed a new type of documentation style where we use breakout boxes to define industry terms or terms we use for Webroot products. 94% preferred that we use this technique as it’s easy for an expert to skip over while standing out to a novice user.

Using diagrams:
Of three types of illustrations, 65% preferred that we reuse our marketing illustrations from data sheets and white papers.

Include or link to technical details: Tie
In the survey, we had an example where we link to system requirements to save on space, or provide the complete list. The results were closely tied leaning to always include details like system requirements in the document. From the comments we know that people do not want to click through to new tabs, but they also do not want long laundry lists of details that can be found on the website when researching the product. We’re considering using an expand and collapse feature to keep the details hidden, but when clicked, it reveals the details.

(Because there was no clear winner, there's no example.)

Number or do not number major steps: Number and label