New

Block encryption by exception

Badge +1
I'm fairly new to webroot, but have a long history with McAfee, Bitdefender, Sophos and Kaspersky.

My feature request would be to add a block/monitor/allow permission system, whereby only specific computers, or even processes are allowed to encrypt data on writing to a network file system and by default denying other processes the abilty to write out encrypted files.

After a tech session with a very knowledgeable member of the Webroot team there seems to be a glaring vulnerability in regards to encryption attacks on networks

If a new variant of ransomware that is unknown to Webroot gets on to a network it can be disastrous. If you are in a scenario where a workstation is infected and starts encrypting files, and the user context it's running in has write access to a network resource you could be in a lot of trouble.

It was explained to me how Webroot monitors unknown processes, and using journalling and rollback can rescue your data on the workstation, which is a brilliant feature, but if it hits the network, you are out of luck, there is no rollback option for the data encrypted over the netowrk by the infected endpoint. It was also explained that once Webroot sees this process on one endpoint doing its deeds that it gets uploaded to their threat intelligence network and others are protected. But the risk of being that one person who takes the hit first to me is unacceptable, especially given the ease of availability of RAAS and modern obfuscation techniques.