Complete

Deleting Endpoints from the console

• 12 March 2013
  • 22 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +7
Hey Guys,

Firstly I am fairly new to Webroot so I apologise if there is a simple answer to this request, or an existing feature request that I could not find.

I run a single console with multiple groups for all of the clients that I support, currently if I deactivate an endpoint I have to email support to get them to permanently delete it from the "Deactivated Endpoints" group. It would be much easier for the day to day management of my console if I could have the ability to delete these endpoints myself.

Cheers,

Crossy

22 replies

Userlevel 7
Hi Crossy, welcome to the Community.  I like the idea.. kudo put on it.
Userlevel 1
This would be handy in our current environment. Yes please! +1
Count me in on this one as well. I have licenses for 80 systems and am constantly moving, updating, replacing them and this would be really nice to have. 
Userlevel 6
Badge +12
The persistence of entries in the Deactivated Endpoint group is by design. The main reason for this design is that there is historical reporting data associated with each endpoint. Permanently removing an endpoint also permanently removes any data associated with it. The removal of data will skew reporting results so they are inaccurate and possibly confusing to some Admins. We do understand that the ‘Deactivated’ list may get lengthy, but since you shouldn’t have to do any administration to these Endpoints (other than to maybe reactivate a mistakenly deactivated one), it is best to simply ignore this list for day to day administration. If there are any specific issues you are looking to overcome that having this feature will assist with, please let us know and we will help investigate what can be done to help address any specific problem. We may revisit this design in the future. Since we have no plans to do so in the coming quarters, this is set to closed for now.