Adding MicrosoftEdge to protected applications

• 14 February 2017
  • 13 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge
Hello all, I am brand new to Webroot.  Having concern about Webroot protection or lack of for WindowsEdge, I added the 2 MicrosoftEdge files to the Application Protection list as per Baldrick's post of 3/22/16.  When I do that I am unable to execute Edge. I then changed their settings from "Protect" to "Allow" and I am able to execute Edge.  Is this advice from Baldrick still valid, and, if so why can't I execute Edge using the "Protect" setting?

13 replies

Userlevel 7
@ probably has much more insight into this than I do.
Userlevel 7
Hi PaulTru

Welcome to the Community Forums.

Thanks to JP for the tag...OK, so lets see now.

I have checked the entries in my instances of the Identity Protection Shield and the following entries are there set as 'Protect' (C:WindowsSystemAppsMicrosoft.MicrosoftEdge_8wekyb3d8bbwe with the following .exes; Microsoftedge & Microsoftedgecp).

I have tried changing them to 'Allow' and back to 'Protect' but in both cases Edge appears to work correctly.

However, whilst checking the entries under Application Protection I have noticed a couple of other entries related to Edge which are:

amd64_microsoft-windows-microsoftedge_31bf3856ad364e35_10.0.14393.0_none_3eac29ef06d21e8aMicrosoftedge
amd64_microsoft-windows-Microsoftedge_31bf3856ad364e35_10.0.14393.693_none_4ad7b2f48e34387e Microsoftedgecp

under the file path: 

C:WindowsWinSxS

Now, I am running the 64bit version of Windows 10 and that may account for the additional entries...but you could look to see if you can find them and try adding them if you do.

Note that the numeric portion of the additional paths may be different to the ones I have listed...but the non numeric elements should be standard if there.

Not sure if this is of any assistance but please post back to let us know what you find as there may be a need to amend the guidance previously provided.

Regards, Baldrick