Solved

Apps that can access sensitive information: Android 7.0

Userlevel 1
Noob here...(shoots hand up)

Was playing around with Webroot on my Android (Marshmallow build, Android 7.0, all current software updates) and decided to do a "Review Apps"  scan.

Results are unchanged for example when I access my Metronome app (and app that helps keep time in music)  It did have permissions that I thought that an app like that shouldn't have.  So I went into the app via Webroot, which took me to the Application Info

For a test, I turn off every single permission that it did have with the exception of Storage (assuming that it needs to keep the settings I set for it)  However, the Notifications and Permissions are not allowed or blocked.

I rescanned and the numbers on the initial App Inspector Review and it remained unchanged.

Now the real question.... Even if I turn off access to those items that I don't want it to have, can the app all of a sudden "re-tick" the checkmark without my permission or will the app continue to do what I didn't authorize it to do when I de-selected Notifications  and Permissions?

Just curious.

Thanks all,
-fryer
icon

Best answer by Ssherjj 8 June 2017, 20:25

View original

4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +62
Hello fryerlawrence,

Welcome to the Webroot Community,

Sorry for the late response..your post must of got missed somehow..

I have gone into App Inspector Review/Access sensitive information. I have stopped a few of my programs by turning off notifications and permissions and uninstalled from within my Samsung Android device under Application Manager. The number of programs that access sensitive information did change when I rescanned the App Inspector Review.

Your question below: