Solved

Disable Webroot for Compilers

• 30 May 2016
  • 9 replies

Hi,

I am a software developer and I have recently acquired Webroot. I believe that Webroot anti-virus is interfering with the compilation of my software (I am using Windows 10 and trying to compile a C++ code with an GCC ARM compiler), because sometimes, the build process just stops and hangs without displaying any error messages or moving forward.

Is there a way that I can selectively disable Webroot for my compilations?
icon

Best answer by Baldrick 30 May 2016, 23:44

View original

9 replies

Userlevel 7
Hi komyg

Welcome to the Community Forums.

If you are using the Home/Consumer version then the answer to that is 'Not yet'; we believe that this feature will be available in a future version, i.e., ability to exclude specific folders from scanning but at present the only thing that you can do is to temporarily shut down protection by right clicking on the notification tray icon and selecting 'Shut down protection', etc.

If you are using the Endpoint Security/Business version then I believe that the ability to exclude specific folders from scanning is already available as a feature, and you are most probably best off posting in that forum for information as to how the feature is activated.

Regards, Baldrick
Hi @, thanks for the answer. I will temporarily disable my protection and see how it goes than.
Userlevel 7
Hi komyg

You are most welcome...do let us know if this temprary measure helps with the issue. We could suggest that you contact Support to get the files you are compiling whitelisted but as I suspect that they will change often it will most likely be a never ending saga...so temporary suspension of protection is most probably the most expediate approach...at least at this time.

Regards, Baldrick
Userlevel 7
Badge +56
Baldrick is correct. You're only other option is to switch over to the business version that has file and folder exclusion.
Userlevel 7