Did You Know?



Reply
New Voice
jjc225
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-04-2013
Accepted Solution

Does Webroot SecureAnywhere Antivirus Have a Firewall?

I purchased a one-year subscription to the AV, using Windows 7 operating system.  Everything went well.  Then I noticed in the GUI that the Webroot firewall was on and activated.  Then I went to Security Center and saw that Windows 7 firewall was on, so I deactivated it.  Then the Security Center flagged this, saying that there was no active firewall.  Just wondering what's going on.  Either I don't have a firewall with Webroot AV, or the firewall is not being recognized.  Should I reactivate the Windows 7 firewall?

Please use plain text.
TripleHelix
Posts: 5,351
Topics: 401
Kudos: 3,245
Ideas: 5
Solutions: 419
Registered: ‎02-03-2012

Re: Does Webroot SecureAnywhere Antivirus Have a Firewall?

Hello jjc225 and Welcome to the Webroot Community Forums.

 

Yes it does and it works with the Windows Firewall please see Here :smileywink:

 

TH

coollogo_com-133794099.gif


asapvip.png   SigSVIP.png    Sr.Expert Advisor Jan 23 2014.png


Webroot® SecureAnywhere™ Internet Security Complete 2014 Beta Tester v8.0.4.70 on my main system Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit & on Win XP 32bit, Win Vista 32bit, Win 7 32bit, Win 8.1 Pro 32bit & 64bit all on VM's. 


MVP.gif.pngMicrosoft® MVP Consumer Security 2012/15


New to the Community? Register now and start posting!

Please use plain text.
New Voice
jjc225
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-04-2013

Re: Does Webroot SecureAnywhere Antivirus Have a Firewall?

Thanks for the clarification. I had no idea the Webroot firewall works alongside the Windows firewall. I'll turn it back on!
Please use plain text.
TripleHelix
Posts: 5,351
Topics: 401
Kudos: 3,245
Ideas: 5
Solutions: 419
Registered: ‎02-03-2012

Re: Does Webroot SecureAnywhere Antivirus Have a Firewall?

Your very welcome and Webroot keeps it program very light the reason for the Outbound only built in WSA as Windows Firewall is very strong at Inbound!

 

TH

coollogo_com-133794099.gif


asapvip.png   SigSVIP.png    Sr.Expert Advisor Jan 23 2014.png


Webroot® SecureAnywhere™ Internet Security Complete 2014 Beta Tester v8.0.4.70 on my main system Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit & on Win XP 32bit, Win Vista 32bit, Win 7 32bit, Win 8.1 Pro 32bit & 64bit all on VM's. 


MVP.gif.pngMicrosoft® MVP Consumer Security 2012/15


New to the Community? Register now and start posting!

Please use plain text.
New Voice
jjc225
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-04-2013

Re: Does Webroot SecureAnywhere Antivirus Have a Firewall?

I also notice some of the strong features of PrevX in this new version of Webroot. I always loved PrevX and am glad to see its key features have been incorporated seamlessly into Webroot. The fast scan, scripts, and the way help is set up is very reminiscent of PrevX.
Please use plain text.
TripleHelix
Posts: 5,351
Topics: 401
Kudos: 3,245
Ideas: 5
Solutions: 419
Registered: ‎02-03-2012

Re: Does Webroot SecureAnywhere Antivirus Have a Firewall?

Exactly as I used Prevx since 2004 and Webroot has continued and built upon it greatly. :smileywink: And This is always great to watch.

 

TH

coollogo_com-133794099.gif


asapvip.png   SigSVIP.png    Sr.Expert Advisor Jan 23 2014.png


Webroot® SecureAnywhere™ Internet Security Complete 2014 Beta Tester v8.0.4.70 on my main system Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit & on Win XP 32bit, Win Vista 32bit, Win 7 32bit, Win 8.1 Pro 32bit & 64bit all on VM's. 


MVP.gif.pngMicrosoft® MVP Consumer Security 2012/15


New to the Community? Register now and start posting!

Please use plain text.
Frequent Voice
PJB1950
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-19-2012

Re: Does Webroot SecureAnywhere Antivirus Have a Firewall?

Hello,

 

Does Webroot's firewall also works with McAfee's firewall, as in McAfee's total protection?

 

PJB1950

Please use plain text.
TripleHelix
Posts: 5,351
Topics: 401
Kudos: 3,245
Ideas: 5
Solutions: 419
Registered: ‎02-03-2012

Re: Does Webroot SecureAnywhere Antivirus Have a Firewall?

[ Edited ]

PJB1950 wrote:

Hello,

 

Does Webroot's firewall also works with McAfee's firewall, as in McAfee's total protection?

 

PJB1950


Yes it should just make sure McAfee's firewall lets WSA have full right's to the system and the Internet! Also please see Here.

 

TH

coollogo_com-133794099.gif


asapvip.png   SigSVIP.png    Sr.Expert Advisor Jan 23 2014.png


Webroot® SecureAnywhere™ Internet Security Complete 2014 Beta Tester v8.0.4.70 on my main system Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit & on Win XP 32bit, Win Vista 32bit, Win 7 32bit, Win 8.1 Pro 32bit & 64bit all on VM's. 


MVP.gif.pngMicrosoft® MVP Consumer Security 2012/15


New to the Community? Register now and start posting!

Please use plain text.
Frequent Voice
PJB1950
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-19-2012

Re: Does Webroot SecureAnywhere Antivirus Have a Firewall?

Thank you for your quick answer! Yes McAfee "gives" webroot 'full access', so that must be ok then!

 

PJB1950

Please use plain text.
TripleHelix
Posts: 5,351
Topics: 401
Kudos: 3,245
Ideas: 5
Solutions: 419
Registered: ‎02-03-2012

Re: Does Webroot SecureAnywhere Antivirus Have a Firewall?

Yes and if you have any issues feel free to post them! :smileywink:

 

TH

coollogo_com-133794099.gif


asapvip.png   SigSVIP.png    Sr.Expert Advisor Jan 23 2014.png


Webroot® SecureAnywhere™ Internet Security Complete 2014 Beta Tester v8.0.4.70 on my main system Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit & on Win XP 32bit, Win Vista 32bit, Win 7 32bit, Win 8.1 Pro 32bit & 64bit all on VM's. 


MVP.gif.pngMicrosoft® MVP Consumer Security 2012/15


New to the Community? Register now and start posting!

Please use plain text.