Ramsonware

Userlevel 4
I have a question.  Can WebRoot decrypt Crptxxx ramsonware without paying hackers?  Does Webroot have a ramsonware utility which recovers files stolen by ramsonware?  

Thanks

Popcorn

11 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +54
You could look at this article from earlier today https://community.webroot.com/t5/Security-Industry-News/New-CryptXXX-Ransomware-Locks-Your-Files-Steals-Bitcoin-and/td-p/250202
It does not answer your question but it is a start.
Userlevel 4
Thanks.  I did read some of the Article I understand one can download Rannoh Decryptor utility.  the article has the instructions how to proceed however it looks complicated I am not a computer expert.  It be nice if Webroot can do this like Kaspersky.:D

Popcorn
Userlevel 7
Badge +54
@ wrote:
Thanks.  I did read some of the Article I understand one can download Rannoh Decryptor utility.  the article has the instructions how to proceed however it looks complicated I am not a computer expert.  It be nice if Webroot can do this like Kaspersky.:D

Popcorn
Off hand I am not sure but you may have to go via supprt.
Userlevel 7
I think that Webroot's appraoch is (i) to prevent the encryption in the first place, & (ii) if the 'crapware' does get on your system then it is monitored until itis determined to be bad & then the journalling is used to roll back the damage.

I do not see Webroot providing decryption utilities. ;)

Baldrick
Userlevel 4
No,  I don't have ramsonware on my computer I just ask the question to inquired about it whether Webroot has a utility to zap it.

PopCorn
Userlevel 4
Yes That sounds good. Prevention of ounce worth pound of cure.  Lol did I get that right?  I am very careful what I click on.  Emails I do not know who it is I delete I will not even open it 
Sometime ago I got a phone call from a man saying my computer was infected I told him it is not and hung up on him.

PopCorn
Userlevel 7
@ wrote: