Solved

Windows Update conflict?

• 11 February 2013
  • 8 replies

I've been using WSAC uneventfully for 5 or 6 months, and I've just discovered that Windows Update has been disabled on my PC and can't find a way to get it back on again. Is there likely to be any connection between WSAC and Windows Update being disabled? Any conflict between the two? I'm just trying to eliminate possibly causes so I can find a fix.
icon

Best answer by JimM 12 February 2013, 21:53

View original

8 replies

Userlevel 7
Hello rileyc and welcome to the Webroot Community!

Disabling Windows updates is usual behaviour of malwares, are you sure that your PC is clean? Did you run WSA scan today? Did you notice another anomalies on your PC?

Sorry to scare you but WSA usually doesn't conflict with Windows updates.
Userlevel 7
Badge +56
Hello rileyc and Welcome to the Webroot Community Forums.

No Webroot SecureAywhere does not do anything that would affect Windows update. Can you tell us what is your OS and if it's 32bit or 64bit?

TH
Userlevel 7
Badge +56
You can try this Microsoft Fixit to see if it helps? http://support.microsoft.com/mats/windows_update/

TH
Yes, I'm a bit worried about possible virus/trojan/malware causes too, particularly since my problems first started a couple of days ago when IE suddenly started having problems loading any websites with content more complex than simple HTML. Sites work fine in Chrome but not in IE, and when I started investigating why that's when I noticed the problem with Win Update. Webroot is on all the time and scans my system daily and has apparently never found a single threat, so if there is an infection it's got past WSAC. I've never run System Cleaner so it can't be related to that.

I'm on W7 Home Premium SP1, 64bit. I've no idea how long Win Update has been disabled because it won't even show me update history, can't get any access to Win Update at all.

PS I've tried the MS Fixit and that couldn't resolve the problem.
Userlevel 7