Solved

All keyboards quit working IMMEDIATELY after install

• 25 April 2012
  • 7 replies

Hello webroot community,

I have been trying to decide on a new antivirus product and have heard good things about Webroot throughout my reverse code engineering community. I do application/network security for a living, so I'm no newbie. I've tried installing a trial version of Webroot SecureAnywhere Essentials 2 times now. Both times, IMMEDIATELY after the install is done, my laptop keyboard and any USB keyboard stop working. I can reboot, go into safe mode, etc, but they are still completely disfunctional (even at the windows logon screen.) I am running a COMPLETELY FRESH copy of Windows 7 Home Premium on my brand new Asus Zenbook UX31E. I almost decided to just move on to another virus scanner because I didn't want to mess with the trouble of trying to get it resolved, but I am hoping that you guys may show some type of consolation (discount on my license) for all the problems. I am a computer professional, so I don't need you to baby me along. There is no virus on my computer. It is a completely fresh load of Windows 7. The only way I was able to even fix the problem, was by using a on-screen virtual keyboard to uninstall Webroot. Let me know what questions you need answered to try to assess the problem... it is a weird one (i assume it has something to do with your software managing key loggers.) THanks for your help!
icon

Best answer by JimM 25 April 2012, 17:17

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 7
Hi Lahma,

Welcome to the Webroot Community!  :D

Many of the reported keyboard issues are now fixed in build 8.0.1.173.  Can you please ensure that's what you're running?  If you're installing from an installation disc and no internet connection for instance, you'd still be running a very old version without bug fixes for that issue.  Try downloading the installer from http://anywhere.webrootcloudav.com/zerol/wsainstall.exe