Did You Know?



Reply
pegas
Posts: 1,677
Topics: 71
Kudos: 756
Ideas: 17
Solutions: 67
Registered: ‎02-23-2012

Re: Website is being blocked, why?

Regardless on whatever blocked pages are in questions, you can always access the blocked pages putting them to the Website filter with action "Allow" under Web Threat Shield or you can use another browser which is not covered by WSA's Web Shield, in my case it is Opera.

 

However, be careful doing the above said obfuscations. You can always trust Webroot, they are blocking bad pages not from the reason to decline you an excitement on a porn site :smileyvery-happy: but definitely to save you from threats they can threaten there :smileywink:

Sr. Expert Advisor

Please use plain text.
pegas
Posts: 1,677
Topics: 71
Kudos: 756
Ideas: 17
Solutions: 67
Registered: ‎02-23-2012

Re: Website is being blocked, why?

[ Edited ]

I have noticed quite strange behaviours of Web Shield in Opera 12 ... Let's take the web page being questioned in this thread.

 

I tried to go on that page and I was prompted by WSA that the page is bad etc. letting me to choose either Block or Allow the page. I opted to block what resulted in opening another three sheets with Google search page but to my surprise the bad page was also opened in the first sheet of Opera.

 

Secondly I followed the above steps with exception that when I got the WSA prompt I did nothing, i.e. not choosing Block or Allow, just waiting. After let's say 3 seconds I could see in the backgroung (I mean beneath the black coloured page with the prompt in the left top corner) the bad page was loaded and the WSA prompt disappeared then.

 

They are fully reproducable issues on my end.

 

Though in IE9 it works how it is supposed to ... if I block the bad page I am taken to Google search page and the bad page never show up.

Sr. Expert Advisor

Please use plain text.
JimM
Posts: 2,308
Topics: 299
Kudos: 1,320
Solutions: 395
Registered: ‎01-19-2012

Re: Website is being blocked, why?

The official response from our threat researchers is that the site in question is a known host of malware due to the ads they host.

 

Pegas, I'm unable to reproduce your part of the issue on my test box with Opera 12 on it.  Unless this issue is reported by someone running an operating system that is using a supported language, I'm inclined to think this is related to the ongoing Identity Shield issues you have been reporting.  Unfortunately, that particular computer is running a currently unsupported foreign language version of Windows, and the behaviors that exist on such a system could certainly be different than what might otherwise be expected.

/// JimM ///
/// Former Community Manager - Now Humble Internet Citizen///
/// Also Formerly a Technical Support Escalations Engineer ///
Please use plain text.
TripleHelix
Posts: 5,340
Topics: 400
Kudos: 3,240
Ideas: 5
Solutions: 419
Registered: ‎02-03-2012

Re: Website is being blocked, why?

Hi Pegas,

 

I have also tested Opera 12 with this link and it works fine on Win 7 x64 for me! 

 

TH 

coollogo_com-133794099.gif


asapvip.png   SigSVIP.png    Sr.Expert Advisor Jan 23 2014.png


Webroot® SecureAnywhere™ Internet Security Complete 2014 Beta Tester v8.0.4.70 on my main system Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit & on Win XP 32bit, Win Vista 32bit, Win 7 32bit, Win 8.1 Pro 32bit & 64bit all on VM's. 


MVP.gif.pngMicrosoft® MVP Consumer Security


New to the Community? Register now and start posting!

Please use plain text.
pegas
Posts: 1,677
Topics: 71
Kudos: 756
Ideas: 17
Solutions: 67
Registered: ‎02-23-2012

Re: Website is being blocked, why?

[ Edited ]

Thx Jim.

 

Hmmmmm what can I do? I have only one question in fact ... are you ever going to support the Czech language? If so can you kindly estimate the time span?  If not I would understand that decision because of relatively uninteresting market in my country. 

 

If you are not going to support my language I can probably expect more problems to come as WSA is developing. My experience is that I am having more and more problems which unfortunately can't be resolved due to incompatibility of my OS and WSA.

 

Thanks & regards,

pegas 

Sr. Expert Advisor

Please use plain text.
JimM
Posts: 2,308
Topics: 299
Kudos: 1,320
Solutions: 395
Registered: ‎01-19-2012

Re: Website is being blocked, why?

Pegas,

 

Great question.  That's one I'd like to see supported as well.  We just rolled out internationalization into 11 languages not too long ago - English, Japanese, German, Dutch, French, Korean, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Chinese, and Italian.  You'll notice that all of those are some of the most commonly spoken languages in the world.  Czech has about 12 million speakers in the world right now.  I understand there are a few other languages being looked at, and I'm not sure if Czech is under consideration or not.  I think the best thing to do for now would be to add an Idea in the Ideas Exchange for having Czech as a supported language.  Probably the ones with the most speakers (and who also have a lot of comptuers) will end up getting support first, but we can certainly get the ball rolling for making a case for Czech by creating an Idea.

/// JimM ///
/// Former Community Manager - Now Humble Internet Citizen///
/// Also Formerly a Technical Support Escalations Engineer ///
Please use plain text.
pegas
Posts: 1,677
Topics: 71
Kudos: 756
Ideas: 17
Solutions: 67
Registered: ‎02-23-2012

Re: Website is being blocked, why?

Thx Jim,

 

OK will do that and will write a new idea.

 

However, honestly I have a problem to fully believe it is solely a question of my language. I have been using Prevx long time, then WSA pre-beta builds and then closed beta builds and I wasn't having such difficulties. They jumped up let's say 4 month ago. If I would accept that the problems are related to my language I would have to ask Webroot "do you have any other Czech users than me?" or other users from Poland and Slovakia because their languages are very very similar to Czech. Maybe more investigation of my problems by Webroot could give us definitive answers. Anyhow, you at Webroot are specialists and I have no other chance than to believe you that it is all down to my OS language.

Sr. Expert Advisor

Please use plain text.