Facebook puts account security in the hands of your friends


Userlevel 7
  • Community Expert Advisor
  • 1649 replies
The next time you're locked of your Facebook account, one of your besties can loan you the key.
Facebook today released a security feature called "Trusted Contacts" as an optional way for people to recover their passwords with the help of their closest friends. Thursday marks the global rollout of the redesigned feature, previously named Trusted Friends, which the company first started testing back in 2011.
With Trusted Contacts, you can pick three to five friends you trust to help you get back into your account the next time you're having trouble logging in. Should a lockout situation arise, the social network will send security codes to the friends you selected, and they can then pass along those codes to you. You'll need a total of three security codes to recover your account, Facebook said.
 
Read here.
 


 


0 replies

Be the first to reply!

Reply