Flash Issues

• 2 March 2013
  • 6 replies

I'm a newbie and not very high-tech savvy, but I have a problem that has been plaguing me for a couple weeks now. When I go on some sites, I get a small window that pops up saying that it's from "Adobe Flash Player Settings." It says that some website (such as nbcuni.com or cfiles.5min.com or secure-us.imworldwide.com etc) "is requesting information to be shared on your computer."  There are 2 buttons:  Allow and Deny.  If I click Deny, it won't go away.  I keep clicking Deny and sometimes the name of the website asking permission will change.  I keep clicking Deny and eventually it goes away, but it pops right back up again in about 15 seconds.  This popup box won't allow me to ignore it and navigate the site.  It seemed to me that this was some kind of malware.  I only started seeing in a couple weeks ago and have never changes my Adobe Flash Player settings.

I contacted Webroot support and they said, "The issue you are reporting sounds like it may be related to a browser extension or toolbar add on. Check your add on settings in your web browser and disable or remove any unknown or unwanted programs. Check all programs in the control panel and uninstall any toolbars or unknown programs and that should resolve the issue."

It didn't.  Does this sound like I need to remove Adobe Flash Player and reinstall? I have to say, it really doesn't look like a legitimate Adobe prompt.  Sometimes it's very blurred and there is no Adobe logo.  Has anyone ever seen anything like this before?

*moved post to its own topic
*edit for searchable subject line - admin

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Hi lldorward and welcome to the forums!