How to factory reset your MacBook before selling or giving it away

  • 17 November 2021
  • 0 replies
  • 8 views

Userlevel 7

 

If you’re ready to sell, trade-in, or give away your Mac or wipe it for another reason there are different steps to the process depending on what Mac you have and what version of macOS it’s running. Notably, macOS Monterey includes a handy new erase option like we’ve had on iOS for years. Read along for how to factory reset your MacBook and other Macs.

 

Before you factory reset your Mac, make sure that you have a current backup.

And if you’re running macOS Big Sur or earlier you’ll want sign out of iCloud, iMessage, and FaceTime. It doesn’t hurt to sign out of any other accounts under System Preferences → Internet Accounts, too. You may want to unpair any Bluetooth devices as well.

If you plan on selling your MacBook with a butterfly keyboard on your own, it may be a good idea to have it replaced for free if you haven’t already. We’ve also got a detailed guide on all the best options to trade-in your Mac.

✿✿ Full Article ✿✿

 


0 replies

Be the first to reply!

Reply