utorrent permission to work

  • 27 January 2017
  • 2 replies
  • 1382 views

I have had to reload uTorrent, and cannot get it to work.  It is located at C:userslawrenceI havappdata
oamingutorrentutorrent.exe
How do I get utorrent permission to work or be accessed without being blocked?.  Thanks

2 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +25
Hello @ and Welcome to the Webroot Community Forum
 
Since this is a Webroot Forum I suggest to go to the utorrent forum HERE
 
Hope this helps!
 
Thank you.
Userlevel 7
Badge +51
 
lawrenceegreen wrote:
I have had to reload uTorrent, and cannot get it to work.  It is located at C:userslawrenceI havappdata
oamingutorrentutorrent.exe
How do I get utorrent permission to work or be accessed without being blocked?.  Thanks
 
Hello and Welcome to the Webroot Community Forums!
 
Please have a look here at this PC User Guide articles that can help you

Controlling active processes
http://live.webrootanywhere.com/content/643/Controlling-Active-Processes
Blocking/Allowing files
http://live.webrootanywhere.com/content/604/Blocking-or-Allowing-Files
Managing protected applications
http://live.webrootanywhere.com/content/610/Managing-Protected-Applications
Managing active connections
http://live.webrootanywhere.com/content/601/Managing-Active-Connections

You can also submit a Support Ticket if you need files whitelisted

 
There are essentially 3 key areas where this can happen/a user can override WSA.  These are essentially reached, from the main WSA panel, as follows:
 
1. PC Security > Quarantine > Detection Configuration
2. Identity & Privacy > Protected Applications
3. Utilities > System Control > Control Active Processes
 
and once there the user usually has the options to:
 
A. "Allow"
B. "Protect/Monitor"
C. "Block/Deny"
 
In the case of 1. Detection Configuration
 
If an item is set to:
 
- "Allow", WSA ignores it during scans and shield actions, meaning if it's a virus that has been allowed, it can continue acting as a virus acts.  Be careful of what you allow in this area and ensure it's something you trust implicitly if you are going to change the status from Block to Allow.
 
- "Monitor", WSA will watch the item to determine if it is legitimate or related to malware.  It is not necessary to add files into this list or set files to monitor manually unless you are changing them from a Block or Allow status.  This might be useful if for example you think Webroot might have had a false positive on something and you want to check again at a later time to see if the determination has changed.  You could set it to Monitor and have Webroot check it again.
 
- "Block", then WSA will treat the items as it would detected malware.  It will not be executed, and it will not be written to your hard drive.  Detected infections are automatically set to a Block status.
 
In the case of 2. Protected Applications (Internet Security & Complete version ONLY)
 
In this case:
 
- "Allowed applications" are not secured against information-stealing malware, and also have full access to protected data on the system. Many applications unintentionally access protected screen contents or keyboard data without malicious intent when running in the background. If you trust an application that is currently marked as "Deny," you can change it to "Allow."
 
- "Protected applications" are secured against information-stealing malware, but also have full access to data on the system. By default, web browsers are assigned to the "protected" status. If desired, you might also want to add other software applications to "protected," such as financial management software. When you run a protected application, the Webroot icon in the system tray displays a padlock.
 
- "Denied applications" cannot view or capture protected data on the system, but can otherwise run normally.
 
And finally, in the case of 3. Control Active Processes
 
If a process is set to:
 
- "Allow" it means WSA allows it to run on the system. It's important to note that if an item is already allowed here, that's because Webroot knows already from seeing the file before that it's ok to allow.
 
- "Monitor" status means WSA will journal what that program is doing and keep a very close eye on it for any suspicious activity.  Basically it would treat it as if it wasn't already sure about it one way or the other, and it wants to monitor it closely until it's sure about it.
 
- "Block" means just that...WSA does not allow it to run on the syste.  Be very careful about what you block in this area and ensure that anything you decide to block is a non-essential process.  Otherwise, you could be setting yourself up for a lot of grief if you block something critical.

Reply