Solved

Chrome hang with identity shield

• 22 January 2021
  • 11 replies

Hi

Working for an MSP and I am noticing an emerging issue with the identity shield causing Chrome to hang or launch with a blank screen.  The circumstances are:

• Windows 10 2004
  • January 2021 Windows 10 CU installed
  • Webroot installed and up to date
  • Nvidia graphics card (no specific  model)
  • Chrome installed and up to date

If all of these are fulfilled except for the January CU, the problem does not occur.  It also does not seem to occur on machines without Nvidia graphics.  I have seen 10 instances of this since yesterday, and was able to replicate the issue on brand new machines.

The workaround is to set the application protection for the chrome.exe to allow rather than protect.

icon

Best answer by TripleHelix 21 October 2021, 21:43

View original

11 replies

Userlevel 3

@msmith-442

I would download the newest agent version

Consumer Download for

Thanks.  I am a sysadmin managing ~100 workstations for users scattered throughout North & Central America, and Asia.  We are using our RMM software to push the update.  Sometimes it's just a matter of users turning their machines on or coming within network range.  Long gone are the days when everyone worked in an office and I could just RDP into their machines after hours, or walk around to their desks to make sure everyone got the update, LOL.

This is what makes that problem so annoying though - when a user on the other side of the country tells me their Chrome isn't working, I've got to work with them to schedule a remote support session for troubleshooting.  If it were consistent that'd be one thing.  But it just randomly affected a few users here and there. The first time it happened everyone was clueless.  Wound up shipping the user a new laptop just because we couldn't figure it out.  😡