Terminal Server - did something change?

• 11 December 2014
  • 5 replies

Badge +1
Until today (at least I didn't notice it until today) when I logged into a terminal server as an administrator, I saw that wrsa.exe was running under the SYSTEM process as well as an instance for each user. Now I am only seeing the SYSTEM session as well as just another single instance for my user. Did something change? I have a few clients that track everything and want to know why it's not showing up anymore and are concerned that it's no longer protecting them.

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +56
No worries, glad you brought up the issue, as I get to learn something new 🙂  Let me know what support says.
Badge +1
Excellent!  Thank you very much.  Sorry that I made this difficult.  
Userlevel 7
Badge +56
So there should be an active process for every currently logged in user; if that isn't the case then go ahead and contact our support so we can delve into it.
Badge +1
I've seen it stated elsewhere that you guys use Terminal Services.  If one of your admin folks logs in and opens task manager, do they see a wrsa.exe process running for each *logged in* user?  Should they?  That's what we've always seen and when the user logs off, the process would go away.  I don't recall having it hang more than once or twice since June.  I just want to know what the expected behaviour should be so I can tell my clients with **bleep** admins the correct answer.
Userlevel 7
Badge +56