Solved

Visitor connections

• 15 April 2015
  • 2 replies

Hi,

I'm new to Webroot; 3 days in to a 30-day, 40-seat trial of Endpoint Protection, and pretty happy/impressed so far. However, my boss has asked a few questions I have not been able to find the answers to.

If a guest or visitor wants to use our wireless LAN to connect to the web, does Webroot automatically install the minute our server accepts the connection? I'm using the MSI installer with a Group Policy for fixed machines, which is working well, and if a Windows laptop with a wireless connection starts from cold, I'm reasonably sure it would be installed ok. What worries me is if a visitor brings an infected laptop from outside in hibernation mode, then wakes it, will we be vulnerable? When will the server become aware of the need to install from the GPO? And how does the GPO enforce installation if it's an Apple laptop? I know there's an installation file, but can that be forced onto Apple clients from a Windows server in a similar way?

Even if the answer is that GPO/MSI installs only work from restarts, that's fine, as we can institute a visitor policy that they have to do a full restart when connecting to our network. And maybe have the Apple installer on a flash USB drive - would that be sensible? More of a Windows Group Policy question, I know, but hopefully someone can give me an update.

Regards

Julian
icon

Best answer by nic 15 April 2015, 17:36

View original

2 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +56
How do you have the policy setup?  You could test it with a new laptop to see if it requires the reboot or not to force the installation.

Either way, I agree with @ that you probably want visitors on a separate network - like a guest wireless.  We have that here at Webroot.  Anyone from the outside goes on there instead of on our corporate LAN.