Solved

Erroneous message stating Webroot subscription is expired

• 27 February 2023
  • 7 replies

Userlevel 2
  • Fresh Face
  • 3 replies

I have been using the WebRoot PC security software for six years and renewing on a yearly basis.  I recently renewed for 1 year in January 2023.  Suddenly in late February 2023, a message is displayed on the WebRoot console message window stating that the subscription is expired, even though the status window still shows that the subscription is “Active” and the pc is “Protected”.  A second popup window also shows the subscription expired, renew now message.  I contacted customer support and the agent, although friendly, was unable to solve the issue.  He wanted to “remote in” to my computer, which I was extremely leery of.  He finally told me to ignore the erroneous messages as long as the software was running ok.  Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to get rid of the erroneous message?  

icon

Best answer by TripleHelix 1 March 2023, 19:11

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 7

Hello @JGS 

EDIT: Before you try a Clean Install let me ping our Community Manager and see if he can see the back end of your account if there are any problems. @TylerM 

Did you try a “Clean Install”? That usually solves problems.

Please do a clean reinstall of WSA on your Windows Computer.

Please follow the steps closely!

• Make sure you have a copy of your 20 Character Alphanumeric Keycode! Example: SA69-AAAA-A783-DE78-XXXX
  • KEEP the computer online for Uninstall and Reinstall to make sure it works correctly
  • Download a Copy Here (Best Buy Geek Squad Subscription PC users click HERE) Let us know if it is the Mac version you need
  • Uninstall WSA and Reboot
  • Go into Safe Mode and Delete these Folders if they are there!
  • C:\Program Files\Webroot Folder
  • C:\ProgramData\WRData Folder (Hidden Folder)
  • C:\ProgramData\WRCore Folder (Hidden Folder)
  • Boot back into normal mode