Solved

Malware virus

• 25 December 2014
  • 9 replies

Newbie here!  Was just wondering how I could have a malware virus when I have Webroot Malware protection?  Thanks for any help, ideas, or advice.
icon

Best answer by Baldrick 25 December 2014, 20:32

View original

9 replies

Userlevel 7
Hi darla

A Yuletide Welcome to the Community Forums.

May I ask how you know that you have a 'malware virus' on your system?  If WSA is telling you this then it has done its job and has caught the citter.  If however WSA has not advised of anything untoward what makes you believe that you have been infected?  Are you seeing any strange behaviour, popup, etc., that are unusal...and if so then please provide us with more detail so that we can try to assist you.

Many thanks in anticipation.

Regards, Baldrick
Thank you, and Happy Holidays to you!  Yes, I am getting the NetBroadcast Vent Window app that pops up when I'm trying to shut down my computer.  It's not the first time I've had this problem and it's not the only malware virus I've gotten.  When I contacted HP, they made me do a factory reset.  I'm getting pretty tired of doing that every time, since I have to re load all the programs that I normally use.  It's getting old, ya know what I mean?  Thanks for any help!
Userlevel 7
Hi darla

Many thanks for the additional information.  From the research I have conducted I believe that what you are seeing is not a 'malware virus' but rather an application intgeration with Windows issue.

If you check on the Web (Google "Net Broadcast Event Window") you will find numerous references to users having this problem and as far as I can see it is not malware-related.  This link is to the Microsoft Support forums and may be of assistance in terms of assist ing you to understand what the issue is or where it may lie.