Trovi and New installion of Webroot

  • 23 March 2015
  • 1 reply
  • 17 views

I have aquired a laptop running windows 8.1. It uses Mozilla Firefox for a browser. I have removed the old virus protection but the browser is infected with Trovi. I want to a new installion of webroot and will it detect Trovi and remove it? Or, should I try to remove it and then do the webroot installaton? Help.

1 reply

Userlevel 7
Badge +62
Hello and Welcome to the Community Forum,
 
Trovi Search is a browser hijacker, which is promoted via other free downloads, and once installed it will change your browser homepage http://trovi.com and default search engine to Trovi Search.
 
I would install Webroot so that you will have free Support if you have to submit a Support Ticket if these instructions do not help.
 
What you are seeing and describing is what we on the Community refer to as a PUA. (Potentially Unwanted Application)These are very annoying at best in that they cause pop-us, redirect your browser home page, and other behavior that may slow down the computer and direct ads your way, but they are not actually doing anything bad like damaging files or stealing information. Often they are installed intentionally by you the user as browser add-ons for various tasks such as quick search tools.. but they also come with the result of added annoying pop-ups and ads. Other times they 'piggy back' with other software that you installed, or try to 'sneak' onto your system entirely.
 
WSA does detect and remove many PUA's, and more are being added, but WSA does not detect all of them. A simple browser add-on with PUA behavior that is easy to identify and easy to remove is not likely to be detected and removed by WSA. Those that are intentionally difficult to locate and remove are. Please see THIS LINK for more information regarding Webroot's stance on these annoying programs.
 
The best thing to do is to submit a Trouble Ticket and ask Webroot Support to take a look and remove these for you.  There is NO CHARGE for this for valid WSA license holder.
 
Also, we have had a lot of discussion regarding these recently, and I have posted an Idea for Webroot to consider asking them to increase PUA detection.  The more  users that need help removing a particular PUA the more likely and faster that PUA will be added to detection.
 
 
If you’re having problems with Firefox, resetting it can help. The reset feature fixes many issues by restoring Firefox to its factory default state while saving your essential information like bookmarks, passwords, web form auto-fill information, browsing history and open tabs.
  1. In the upper-right corner of the Firefox window, click the Firefox menu button ([img]http://malwaretips.com/blogs/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Firefox-menu-button.png[/img]), then click on the “Help” ([img]http://malwaretips.com/blogs/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Firefox-Help.png[/img]) button. [img]http://malwaretips.com/blogs/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Firefox-Help-button.jpg[/img]
  2. From the Help menu, choose Troubleshooting Information. If you’re unable to access the Help menu, type about:support in your address bar to bring up the Troubleshooting information page. [img]http://malwaretips.com/blogs/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Firefox-Troubleshooting-Information.jpg[/img]
  3. Click the “Reset Firefox” button in the upper-right corner of the “Troubleshooting Information” page. [img]http://malwaretips.com/blogs/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Reset-Firefox-button.jpg[/img]
  4. To continue, click on the “Reset Firefox” button in the new confirmation window that opens. [img]http://malwaretips.com/blogs/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Reset-Firefox-to-default-settings.jpg[/img]
  5. Firefox will close itself and will revert to its default settings. When it’s done, a window will list the information that was imported. Click on the “Finish“.
Note: Your old Firefox profile will be placed on your desktop in a folder named “Old Firefox Data“. If the reset didn’t fix your problem you can restore some of the information not saved by copying files to the new profile that was created. If you don’t need this folder any longer, you should delete it as it contains sensitive information.
 
 
Please let us know if this is resolved or not. Thanks,
 
Kind Regards,

Reply