"Waiting for Extension Webroot Filtering Extension"

  • 21 January 2015
  • 63 replies
  • 9321 views

Today, all of sudden - I haven't added a program or been an unsual website or any other strange behavior - Chrome has slowed down terribly. It takes minutes to get anywhere at all. Going to my router - 192.168.1.1 - takes a minute or more. What is stalling the browser - and frustrating me - is the "Waiting for Extension Webroot Filtering Extension". The only way I could use my browser is by disabling the extension in the browser.
 
This question has been posted and various answers/solutions have been offered. None seems convincing and nothing solves my problem. The last solution offered was in October. has Webroot fixed this issue? Thank you.

63 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +56
@ wrote:
So I read the "ping this..." and "try another browser" , "disable the webfilter" but at the end of the day, Webroot has made money by selling us a product that has problems.  It's great that they are testing an "upgrade" but maybe they should have thought about testing the original product for problems.  
 
Has anyone had any luck getting a refund?  It would be my preferance to uninstall Webroot and go back to using a product we've been using for the past 15 years.    
Our standard policy is to give you a refund within 70 days, but if you're having ongoing issues with the product beyond that date then I'm sure we could sort out a refund for you.   Sorry that this has been such an ongoing problem issue - I've been pestering escalations about it and will continue to do so!
Userlevel 7
Badge +56
We're looking into this issue right now.  As a workaround you can turn off the filtering until we get it resolved.  Sorry about that!
Userlevel 7
Badge +56
Also, we just released an updated version of the web filter today - can you try the sites that were giving you problems and let us know if you're still seeing slowdowns?
Userlevel 7
Badge +55
Hello Rocdred,
 
Welcome to the Community Forum,
 
It's a shame that you aren't using Password Manager. This wouldn't cause a slow down I wouldn't think. Password Manager runs great on all my systems .
 
May I show you a KB article explaining how to https://community.webroot.com/t5/forums/replypage/board-id/WSA-AV/message-id/Transfer Lasspass to Password Manager? Just encase you are interested .
 
 
The Beta testers are using a new version and it's working well so in time they will release the new Update soon to the Public!
 
 
 Kind Regards,
 
 
 
Userlevel 7
Hi Rocdred
 
In your case I suspect that the issue is related to the Web Filtering extension and has nothing to do with the WSA Password Manager.  If you think about it....the Password Manager needs the details of the website being visited and if there is an issue with the Web Filter then it will not get the information that it needs in a timely fashion and hence appear to be slow.
 
As Sherry has correctly pointed out there is a new Web Threat Filtering extension being beta tested at this moment (I have it and it is working great on my systems) and hopefully that will be in the Release channel soon...so I would hold out a bit longer re. a decision as it would be a shame to throw away the chance to use one of, if not the best, security application available just because of one of the features not working ocrrectly and soon to be upgraded.
 
Regards, Baldrick
Userlevel 7
Hello monroemann, welcome to the Webroot Community!
 
Several users have reported issues with the current extension for Chrome.  Please submit a Trouble Ticket detailing the issue, and how your computer acted both with the extension before the current version and how it is now.  This will help Support gather additional information about this so that hopefully we will see some improvments made.
 
Thanks!
Userlevel 7
They are still working on it, so look for improvement soon.  There is a new WEb Filter, and some parts of it are causing a small amount of issue, but they are still working on it
Userlevel 7
Badge +55
Hello ?,
 
Welcome to the Webroot Community,
 
I am sorry to hear of the issue that you are experiencing.
 
Have you tried a different browser such as FF to see if you can connect?
 
I would advise a uninstall/clean reinstall as long as you have an internet connection if you want t try this.
 
Can you please do a clean reinstall of WSA and Please follow the steps closely!
 
  • Make sure you have a copy of your 20 Character Alphanumeric Keycode! Example: SA69-AAAA-A783-DE78-XXXX
  • KEEP the computer online for Uninstall and Reinstall to make sure it works correctly
  • Download a Copy Here (Best Buy Subscription PC users click HERE)
  • Uninstall WSA and Reboot
  • Install with the new installer, enter your Keycode and don't import any settings if asked to as you can set it up as you like once it's done
  • Let it finish it's install scan
  • Reboot once again
 
 Then if this doesn't help then would you please submit a Support Ticket so that they can get to the bottom of this for you free of charge with a Webroot subscription.
 
 
 
 
Userlevel 7
Badge +56
Sorry about that.  We're actually in the process of changing over to a driver based web filtering system, to get away from having to deal with browser extensions.  It's in beta testing right now - if you guys would be interested in trying out the beta version to see if that helps let me know and I can get you access.
Userlevel 7
Badge +56
@ wrote:
I have this same problem with the chrome extension and I would be willing to use a beta version.  Would I have to do this for  every machine covered by my license? 
We do have a possible fix for this:
 
What helped Chrome for me was to go into your Chrome Extensions page, and clicking the checkbox for "Allow Access to File URLs" under the Webroot filtering extension.
 
Give that a shot and see if it helps - if not I can give you a beta keycode (and yes you'd have to install the beta on any machine that is having this problem).
 
Userlevel 7
Badge +55
Hello and Welcome to the Webroot Community!
 
Here is the link to the Web Filter for Chrome: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/webroot-filtering-extensi/kjeghcllfecehndceplomkocgfbklffd please let us know if that works!
 
Thanks,
 
Daniel 😉
Userlevel 7
Badge +55
Not a problem it's not for everyone!
 
Thanks,
 
Daniel 😉
Userlevel 7
Badge +55
Hello and Welcome to the Webroot Community!
 
Can you please Submit a Support Ticket and they can gather logs from you and in the Ticket say for the BrighCloud Team as they would like to get to the bottom of this issue!
 
Thanks,
 
Daniel 😉
Ticket sent
Userlevel 7
Badge +55
Hello and Welcome to the Webroot Community!
 
Can you tell me what browser you are using? Have you tried another browser to see if the webfilter has the same issue?
 
Please look here at these thread of the same issue.
 
https://community.webroot.com/t5/Webroot-SecureAnywhere-Antivirus/quot-Waiting-for-Extension-Webroot-Filtering-Extension-quot/td-p/182806
 
https://community.webroot.com/t5/Webroot-SecureAnywhere-Internet/Another-quot-waiting-for-extension-Webroot-Filtering-Extension/m-p/185518#M4969
 
I can ping @ and see what he has to say about this as well.
 
Or you can go submit a Support Ticket and they can look at this for you.
 
 
Best Regards,
 
 
Please get back to us and let us know how you are doing.
 
Thanks, Sherry.
 
I did read through that first post and enabled the check to Allow Access to File URLs and didn't see an improvement.  I'll have to restart to get the webroot program working again or at least to access the program interface as it's not coming up and I'm unable to end that task even as administrator.
 
I also installed the WSALogs Log Gathering Tool and submitted a ticket to support after generating the logs.  Hopefully this provides some insight into the issue(s).
 
 
Userlevel 7
Badge +55
Hi Again CrazyCharlie,
 
 
I just wanted to make sure you had the right webfilter extension for Chrome. I use Chrome and I'm not having any issues. Sorry we can't get this fixed without contacting support.:@
 
 
Regards,
Hi - I hope the beta testers can release the new version soon. The slowdown with the Webroot Filtering Extension became so bad on my computer, even after taking the steps above for use with Chrome, that a few weeks ago I gave up and uninstalled Webroot, and am using another antivirus program. The first month of use of the other program is free, so I'm hoping that the Webroot issue will be solved by the time my month is up:-).

Incidentally, the computer on which I'm having this problem is an HP Envy, in case there's a possibility that the problem might be related to brand of computer.
Userlevel 7
Badge +55
Would you like to be a Beta Tester? Just post in here if you do: https://community.webroot.com/t5/Announcements-and-Release-Notes/Looking-for-Webroot-Beta-testers/td-p/175350/page/7
 
Cheers,
 
Daniel 😉
Userlevel 7
Hello @,

Welcome to the Webroot community.

Are you experiencing this on a Mac or Windows machine?
 
Also, what browser are you experiencing this issue on>
 
Please respond to this conversation and I would be happy to investigate this issue for you and assist any way that I can.
 
Best Regards,
 
 
Userlevel 7
@ wrote:
Thanks for your reply.
It is a PC windows with Explorer.  I'm not sure how to determine the version.
My computer boots up now with this extension and warning that it can cause problem.
My computer is now signifciantly slow. 
Help appreciated!
You can disable the extension to check possible difference for you, via Tools(gear cog top RH of Internet Explorer)>Manage Add-ons.  
Best option if you're seeing excessive slowdown would be to Submit a Support Ticket  and perhaps a clean install may help. 
 
Let us know of any questions, or if we can provide any further info. Thanks.
 
 
 
 
Userlevel 7
Hi Wizcrash
 
Welcome to the Community Forums.
 
I am afraid that at the moment Webroot Development are still working on getting this sorted out, and given that the issue is the result of a policy change by Mozilla, this is taking some time.
 
In case you have not seen this yet we do have a temporary fix for the issue the details of which you can find here. This does involve a little manual 'tweaking' but this is relatively easy to do so hopefully this will sort you out until such time as an official solution is available.
 
Hope that helps?
 
Regards, Baldrick
Userlevel 7
Not at all Wizcrash, the apology is mine to you, as I should have precised the nature of the issue before posting back.
 
The fix is in fact an older version of the Filtering Extension for Firefox...which is prior to the change in the ground rules coming from Mozilla. If may; if you have the extension in Firefox and it is working then that is the best we can hope for for the moment...until the Development Team sort out the 'mess' that the change by Mozilla has caused.
 
If that causes you an issue of speed then best to disable the extension...your overall protection from WSA is reduced microscopically in that you are not warned of potentially unsafe sites but should you venture on to one then the WSA client takes over and protects you from anything nasty that the site may be purveying.  The extension is only the indicator of the potential issue, it in itself does not protect you.
 
If you use Chrome and you are not seeing the extension at all then there is a work around that I can advise you on which involves some simple drag n' drop of the extension from a hidden Webroot-related folder to the Extensions page of Chrome...relatively easy. Let me know if you need that workaround and I will be happy to provide it.
 
Regards, Baldrick
This solution worked perfectly so far here.  We having long long access time to websites, now it is back to nearly instant, thanks.
Turns out the solution works on some websites for me, not all. The ones that take a long time its as bad as it was. And it is while the message is shown: "Waiting for Extension Webroot Filtering Extension"

Reply