Web Threat Shield

Userlevel 2
Is there any way to disable the web threat shield without changing the systray icon? I tried removing the check marks but I am still getting warnings and false positives.

If I turn off the web threat shield my WSA systray icon changes from green to an ugly gray and red, which would seem to indicate that I am no longer protected, even though I know I am. Is there any way around this? If not this issue should be addressed in a future update of WSA.

11 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +56
Sorry no there isn't but you can uncheck all these and Save All and it will stay Green. Note: I don't recommend doing so as that is one of the Important Shields means less secure!

The 2014 Web Threat Shield is being completely redesigned which will solve this issue.

HTH,

Daniel

Userlevel 2
Hey Daniel
When you are able to see the image that I posted you will see that I already unchecked all the boxes but it had no effect, I still keep getting the FP warnings.
Userlevel 7
Badge +56
@AnorexicHippo wrote:
Hey Daniel
When you are able to see the image that I posted you will see that I already unchecked all the boxes but it had no effect, I still keep getting the FP warnings.
Sorry about that. Have you contacted Webroot support about this issue? If not please Submit a Support Ticket and they can gather your scan logs and they will let you if there is an issue. You must be visiting not well known websites as I haven't seen a blocked page in weeks.

HTH,

Daniel
Userlevel 2
Hey Daniel

I can assure you I have not been visiting any dodgy websites. I did not mean to imply that this is something that is happening constantly, it is infrequent, but it would be nice if it never happened at all. It would also be nice if WSA users were able to enable or disable any shields they want, without worrying about whether or not the systray icon was going to agree with their decision.
Userlevel 7