Solved

Closing account and transfering key to new account?


Userlevel 1
Is it possible for webroot tech supoort to close my current account and then I could create a new account with a new e mail address and transfer my current Secure Anywhere Complete key to the new account?
 
Reason I kind of would like to do this is because on my account page the Backup and Password icons are orange and say  "Your keycode has now expired. To continue accessing Backups please renew your keycode now, or your data may be lost."
 
This has happen because I had tech support change my current key from an international key one to a local USA key one.
 
I relize its only a cozmedic glitch but it kind of bothers me 😞 lol
 
 
 
 
icon

Best answer by GeorgeH 28 June 2012, 23:02

Hello gate1975mlm,
 
We can definitely get that fixed for you. We won't need to close your account...we can simply associate your keycode to your portal account on our end and that should fix it. Please private message me your keycode and email address associated to your account.
 
Thanks!
 
George
View original

22 replies

Userlevel 3
Hello gate1975mlm,
 
We can definitely get that fixed for you. We won't need to close your account...we can simply associate your keycode to your portal account on our end and that should fix it. Please private message me your keycode and email address associated to your account.
 
Thanks!
 
George
Userlevel 1
PM Sent 🙂
Userlevel 7
This issue should be resolved following the actions George took on the back end. Are you all set now?
Userlevel 1
Hi JimM :)
 
I think my account page is fixed for the most part as the Passwords and Backup buttons are now green and do not say "Your keycode has now expired" :)
 
However on top of the "PC Security" and "Moble Security" icons there is still a "Upgrade/Renew" button.
 
Just wanted to know if thats normal? and does all other users accounts pages also always have the "Upgrade/Renew" button above the "PC Security" and "Moble Security" icons showing? Or can that buton be removed also?
 
Also under my  "Manage Keycodes"page it has an older now expired key listed. Can you guys remove that from there please? I would like to only have current in use key codes showing on that page :)
 
Here are 2 scrrenshots to show you what I am seeing. I blacked out the key codes ofd course. 
 
https://[url=http://www.imagebam.com/image/68bcaf199693296]http://www.imagebam.com/image/68bcaf199693296]http://thumbnails75.imagebam.com/19970/68bcaf199693296.jpg[/url][/url]
 
https://[url=http://www.imagebam.com/image/187781199693306]http://www.imagebam.com/image/187781199693306]http://thumbnails64.imagebam.com/19970/187781199693306.jpg[/url][/url] ?
?
 
Thanks?
Userlevel 4
Badge +23
I have that too, after having two keys merged a little while back. I also have the expired key present under "Manage Keycodes".
Userlevel 7
I'm checking into this issue for you to see if there is anything else we can do regarding those two items.  However, neither of them should negatively impact your experience in the console.  While you now have an extra button for renewing, you do not need to click on it.  The expired keycode is a historical marker more than anything.  It may be useless, but it's not hurting anything by being there.  It just reflects that you used to have another subscription with us.  If we can come up with a way to get those items removed I'll reply back and let you know.  At the moment, I don't believe that's possible right now, but I'll look into it.
Userlevel 4
Badge +23
Certainly no hassle for me, was mainly replying to let the OP know that he's not unique in this regard. It would be kind of nice to remove however, but not urgent of course 😉
Userlevel 1
@ wrote:
I'm checking into this issue for you to see if there is anything else we can do regarding those two items.  However, neither of them should negatively impact your experience in the console.  While you now have an extra button for renewing, you do not need to click on it.  The expired keycode is a historical marker more than anything.  It may be useless, but it's not hurting anything by being there.  It just reflects that you used to have another subscription with us.  If we can come up with a way to get those items removed I'll reply back and let you know.  At the moment, I don't believe that's possible right now, but I'll look into it.
Yes I do understand its only cozmedic and my account page will function normal :)
 
I am kind of a perfectionist I guess lol and would like my account page to look a certain way.
 
So if you can fix it that would be great :)
 
Also in the future maybe you could give users an option to remove old key codes from their Manage Keycodes page :)
 
Thanks for looking into this :) 
Userlevel 7
Good news! I believe we've taken care of this cosmetic issue for you. The old keycode should be gone, and the "renew/upgrade" links should be gone as well.
Userlevel 1
Hi JimM,
 
I just logged into my webroot account and indeed it is now 100% fixed! :)
 
Thank you so much for getting this fixed pretty darn quick!
 
I really appreciate it:)
 
Have a great weekend!
 
 
 
Userlevel 1
Update!
 
I now seem to have a new small issue with my account page.
 
One of my computers is now not showing up under my account page since you made the fixes.
 
I even uninstalled and reinstalled Webroot Secure Anywhere Complete and added in the same key but it still will not show on my account page.
 
So while all my others issues with my account page are now fixed I now have a new issue 😞 lol
Userlevel 7
I see two computers that should be active. Could you give me the hostname of the one that isn't showing up? You can PM it to me if you don't want to post that here.
Userlevel 1
@ wrote:
I see two computers that should be active. Could you give me the hostname of the one that isn't showing up? You can PM it to me if you don't want to post that here.
The name is "Bedroom-PC"
 
I have always had 3 PC's showing under my account and  "Bedroom-PC" is missing.
 

 
Userlevel 7
When you say "the same key," do you mean the one I'm PM'ing to you?
Userlevel 1
Yes same one 🙂
Userlevel 7
It probably has to do with a change we made to get the last issue taken care of. It's going to take some time to investigate this one. I'll get back with you as soon as I know more.
Userlevel 1
@ wrote:
It probably has to do with a change we made to get the last issue taken care of. It's going to take some time to investigate this one. I'll get back with you as soon as I know more.
Thanks 🙂
Userlevel 1
Good news!
 
My third computer "Bedroom-PC" has been added to my webroot account page :)
 
One quick question how often does the info for each computer update on the account page?
 
Reason I ask is because I ran a scan a about an hour ago or so and when I click on the computer under the account it does show the most recent scan on that computer.
 
Thanks again 🙂
Userlevel 7
The computer is showing up again because we fixed this for you late Friday.  I'm glad it worked :)
 
It should show up close to immediately after the scan takes place as long as the computer in question is connected to the internet at the time of the scan.  When it checks in with the cloud database, it updates the status in the console.  You will need to refresh the page though for that scan to appear.
Userlevel 1
@ wrote:
The computer is showing up again because we fixed this for you late Friday.  I'm glad it worked :)
 
It should show up close to immediately after the scan takes place as long as the computer in question is connected to the internet at the time of the scan.  When it checks in with the cloud database, it updates the status in the console.  You will need to refresh the page though for that scan to appear.

Cool thanks again to you JimM and the rest of Webroot for truly fantastic tech support! :)
 
 
Hi Jim
I too have the same problem. Can you take a look and delete the old keycode. Please email if you need any info.
Thanks
Rich
Userlevel 7
Ok jtgunn, I removed the expired console. You should be all set now. Please let me know if you need a hand with anything else. 🙂

Reply