Solved

Protected item duplication after OS upgrade.

  • 9 February 2013
  • 29 replies
  • 136 views

Userlevel 6
Badge +24
I have 3 PCs protected in my wsac. I recently upgraded 2 of my machines to windows 8. Since then they both are seen duplicated in my console taking away my two free licenses. And I have no idea which of the duplicated is the functional one.

 

icon

Best answer by MikeR 11 February 2013, 03:39

View original

29 replies

Userlevel 7
You're welcome! 😉
Userlevel 6
Badge +24
There are currently no deactivated PCs under your account

Pheww! My console looks like a hospital were all sick patients got discharged...

Thanks MikeR...
Userlevel 7
One more clarification - when you "Deactivate" a machine, I can remove it completely on the back-end and it should no longer appear in the console.
Userlevel 7
No problem at all! 😃
Userlevel 7
@ wrote:

It should remove it from the list, when you manually "Deactivate" the machine, it then appears as deactivated in the console. I will confirm this tomorrow.

Thanks Mike!  That is about what I would expect, but it will make things a little easier for me to have a better answer than my own assumptions  ;)
Userlevel 7
It should remove it from the list, when you manually "Deactivate" the machine, it then appears as deactivated in the console. I will confirm this tomorrow.
Userlevel 7
@ wrote:

The uninstall is supposed to take the used seat away. I have seen multiple instances of seats being used with the same pc name. For example, I could install on my home PC and name it MIKE-PC and if I named one of my VMs MIKE-PC, it would not replace the other one, but create an entirely new/separate entry.

Mike, 

 

On the uninstall taking the seat away, will that completely delete the machine from the listings, or will that machine be listed in the Deactivated list?

 

(Just trying to understand the whole behavior)
Userlevel 6
Badge +24
PM coming up! 🙂
Userlevel 7
dtouch - I see that you have 7 seats being used and 3 of which, are on an identical name. Want to Send me a Private Message with the names of the machines you are currently using and I can deactivate the older instances that haven't checked in as recently?
Userlevel 7
The uninstall is supposed to take the used seat away. I have seen multiple instances of seats being used with the same pc name. For example, I could install on my home PC and name it MIKE-PC and if I named one of my VMs MIKE-PC, it would not replace the other one, but create an entirely new/separate entry.
Userlevel 7
@ wrote:

Once we get and Official proper procedure it would be nice to make it into the Tribal Knowledge Base. ;)

 

TH



Yes it would!  Obviously there are multiple ways, some of which cause the duplication.  While machine duplication can easily be worked around, it would be nice to know definately how to avoid it to begin with.  ;)
Userlevel 7
Badge +56
Once we get and Official proper procedure it would be nice to make it into the Tribal Knowledge Base. ;)

 

TH

Userlevel 7
@dtouch wrote:

Now my deactivated pc section has many duplicates. Can they be removed?

It is like there are deactivated and activated items of the same PC's . Do they in anyways can clash the functioning of active licenses?

I do not think it will clash in any way whatsoever with the active license seats.  As far as having them removed completely, I think that would require back end assistance from a MOD or from a Trouble Ticket.
Userlevel 6
Badge +24
Now my deactivated pc section has many duplicates. Can they be removed?

It is like there are deactivated and activated items of the same PC's . Do they in anyways can clash the functioning of active licenses?
Userlevel 7
So your results are really like the original post.  If you had not deactivated the first installation from the Console, you would have had two active PC's of the same name after the clean install of WSA on the clean OS.

 

That would make it not entirely hardware specific: both the machine hardware and name, as well as something else, is being used.  Maybe the "installed since date" of the WSA itself plays a factor as well.  

 

On a clean install of the OS and WSA, the installed since date would obviously be date of the clean install.  In the case of the OS upgrade to Windows 8, the installed since date recorded by windows could be affected.. 

 

Just wild guesses on my part
Userlevel 7
Badge +56
No I deactivated before reinstall of WSA on the clean OS which makes me think I didn't have to as I used the same PC name..

 

TH
Userlevel 7
TH, Did you uninstall WSA prior to the clean format and OS install?  
Userlevel 7
Badge +56
OK this is what I have:

 

May 31, 2012 it was Deactivated as I did a clean reinstall.
Userlevel 7
I think I can answer a part of that, as I know a little more about this version:

 

For those with the Best Buy Subscription Software, in theory if the WSA is uninstalled (while the computer is connected to the internet) the license seat is supposed to be removed from use so it should remove itself from the Console.  After the OS re-install, simply reinstall the WSA as normal.  The seat should be picked back up by the Console on its own.

 

If I am wrong on that, please correct me  :S

 

If that is correct, at least in theory, then machine name will not really matter, although it might leave a "Deactivated PC" listed if you use a different one.
Userlevel 7
Badge +56
So Mike what is the proper procedure when you do an OS reinstall Joe said it's tied to Hardware do you have to remove WSA from the PC and remove from the online console or when you are installing the OS after a clean reformat just make sure you use the same computer name? Example: Daniel-PC

 

TIA,

 

Daniel
Userlevel 7
No problem - and if you need help ever, I can remove it from the back-end as well.
Userlevel 7
@ wrote:

I have seen this happen on my Win XP computer after a full reformat.

Yes, so have I.  I didn't know that from an OS upgrade without uninstalling WSA first that it could happen though.. that was new to me.  At least it is pretty easy to reclaim the lost seat through the Console.
Userlevel 7
I have seen this happen on my Win XP computer after a full reformat.
Userlevel 7
Thank you Mike!  I greatly appreciate the additional feedback on this!
Userlevel 7
I have seen it happen in other instances - the seat count is used when changing operating systems. Installing WSA on virtual environements also counts against the seat count.

Reply