No Definition Updates On Weekends and Holidays?

• 14 January 2019
  • 6 replies

Userlevel 7
For the last month I've been watching and keeping track of the "Definition Updates" on WSA for Mac and I have noticed that the definitions do not update on the weekends or holidays.

For example:

12/21/18 the definition was: 1043

12/26/18 the definition was: 1044

12/31/18 the definition was: 1047

01/02/19 the definition was: 1048

Friday 01/11/19 the definition was and still is today at the time of this post 01/14/19: 1055

Is there a reason there are no updates on the weekend or holidays but there is an update every day during the week?

@MacDaddy385 @PVaddi @LLiddell

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +62

@ProTruckDriverbrought this up about definitions a year ago. I have been running the Mac Beta since 2014. I learned a lot from @ProTruckDriver, he was always on his toes with new Mac questions. Now I am the only one that seems to run the Mac Beta consistently.  So doing the Mac Beta alone seems discouraging. This is what I have dug up and have saved since the last 7 months in the way of Definitions… to few and far between it seems like the definitions are not updated enough for todays world. Am I truly protected with running Webroot?

Sorry I did not keep as good of a record as Dave has/had.

01/20- 9.0.10.162.1276

02/15/20-9.0.10.162.1339

04/20/20-9.0.10.162. 1373

05/27/20 -9.0.162.1410

06/27/20 -9.0.10.162.1433

With the lack of people participating in the Mac Beta Forum...I have slacked on keeping up…

@freydrew@PVaddior anyone can give me insight to whether the Definitions are up to date on a daily. weekly, or hourly bases?

Thanks!

Userlevel 7
Badge +62

Thank you @ProTruckDriver for sharing this information for all of us here! Kudos for researching your fabulous question. :blush:

Userlevel 7