Can't access email accounts and some subscription websites with VPN on

• 10 July 2019
  • 8 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +3
I have to routinely disconnect my VPN throughout the day as email does not download and I cannot gain access a subscription website.

The two problem email servers are protonmail and chaossoftware. The 3rd blocked website is a streaming video website (I get the login page, but cannot log in). I am a registered language editor of their videos and am on and off the site regularly throughout the day. I have to disconnect VPN to gain access to these sites.

This has become a major headache. Connect, disconnect, connect, disconnect all day long. I also have a very long password for my VPN, so it is not like entering abc123 each time! :)

Is there a correct procedure or workaround or is this a symptom of VPN in general?

Thank you in advance for your reply.

Skye

This topic has been closed for comments

8 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +17
Video websites sometimes block people they detect as using VPNs for licensing reasons - Netflix for example stops using it detects are using a VPN to prevent them watching American content whilst abroad and vice versa. As it isn't possible to detect the user's actual location it will do this even if you are connected to an American VPN server whilst in America. What happens when you try and login? Does it simply say invalid username/password, do nothing or show another message?

With reference to the email servers - do you have an geo-restrictions set on your accounts? If you have set ProtonMail (for example) to only allow logins from American IP addresses it makes sense you may not be able to access your email if your location is set to "Automatic" and you are being connected to - for example - Mexico. Try explicitly setting location to US West or US East and seeing if you are able to access your email that way.

I have restrictions on some services and had to enable access from Japan when I was travelling recently.