Is RTFT TRACK a virus?

  • 24 December 2015
  • 2 replies
  • 1355 views

Slow downloading of videos, sometimes unable to download. Too many ads pop up. Notification says too many apps on startup. I suspected RTFT TRACK so I disabled it ... IS IT A VIRUS?

2 replies

Userlevel 7
? do you happen to have a Lenovo machine??
 
If so read here for info. If not ignore and tell us what computer brand/model you run and the operating system
 
If you doubt it instead of disabling it you could set up your Secure Anywhere client to monitor its actions.
 
Regards,
Edwin
Userlevel 7
Hi dinocruz9
 
Welcome to the Community Forums.
 
RTFTrack.exe is in fact the driver and utility software for Lenovo EasyCamera. The driver package is required in order for the web camera device to function properly and is the software that allows your PC to communicate with this hardware camera. It is one of a number that are installed as part of Lenovo EAsy Camera.
 
So if you plan to use the camera then you should not disable it, as Edwin has said.
 
Most likely what is happening is that WSA is being 'over protective' of your system because this file is not very common/not well known, etc.  There are essentially 3 key areas where this can happen/a user can override WSA.  These are essentially reached, from the main WSA panel, as follows:
 
  1. PC Security > Block/Allow Files
  2. Identity Protection > Application Protection
  3. Utilities > System Control > Control Active Processes
 
and once there the user usually has the options to:
 
  1. "Allow"
  2. "Protect/Monitor"
  3. "Block/Deny"
I would guess that the area that is most likely the cause of the issue is in fact  2. identity Protection > Application Protection, so would start there (see below) and then move to the other areas if that proves not to be the case.
 
In the case of 1. Block/Allow Files
 
If an item is set to:
 
- "Allow", WSA ignores it during scans and shield actions, meaning if it's a virus that has been allowed, it can continue acting as a virus acts.  Be careful of what you allow in this area and ensure it's something you trust implicitly if you are going to change the status from Block to Allow.
 
- "Monitor", WSA will watch the item to determine if it is legitimate or related to malware.  It is not necessary to add files into this list or set files to monitor manually unless you are changing them from a Block or Allow status.  This might be useful if for example you think Webroot might have had a false positive on something and you want to check again at a later time to see if the determination has changed.  You could set it to Monitor and have Webroot check it again.
 
- "Block", then WSA will treat the items as it would detected malware.  It will not be executed, and it will not be written to your hard drive.  Detected infections are automatically set to a Block status.
 
In the case of 2. Protected Applications (Internet Security & Complete version ONLY)
 
In this case:
 
- "Allowed applications" are not secured against information-stealing malware, and also have full access to protected data on the system. Many applications unintentionally access protected screen contents or keyboard data without malicious intent when running in the background. If you trust an application that is currently marked as "Deny," you can change it to "Allow."
 
- "Protected applications" are secured against information-stealing malware, but also have full access to data on the system. By default, web browsers are assigned to the "protected" status. If desired, you might also want to add other software applications to "protected," such as financial management software. When you run a protected application, the Webroot icon in the system tray displays a padlock.
 
- "Denied applications" cannot view or capture protected data on the system, but can otherwise run normally.
 
And finally, in the case of 3. Control Active Processes
 
If a process is set to:
 
- "Allow" it means WSA allows it to run on the system. It's important to note that if an item is already allowed here, that's because Webroot knows already from seeing the file before that it's ok to allow.
 
- "Monitor" status means WSA will journal what that program is doing and keep a very close eye on it for any suspicious activity.  Basically it would treat it as if it wasn't already sure about it one way or the other, and it wants to monitor it closely until it's sure about it.
 
- "Block" means just that...WSA does not allow it to run on the system.  Be very careful about what you block in this area and ensure that anything you decide to block is a non-essential process.  Otherwise, you could be setting yourself up for a lot of grief if you block something critical.
 
Now, hopefully that has given you a consolidated low down on where to look and what you can do to affect how WSA 'interferes' with files, objects & processes on your system...and so will help you get to the bottom of what is causing you grief… (I am indebted to the KB article by JimM of which this is my re-interpretation).
 
Do post back with any specific questions that you may have re. the above.
 
Regards, Baldrick
 
 

Reply