Did You Know?



Reply
New Voice
RoyStephens
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-09-2012
Accepted Solution

How to prevent a program from being blocked by SecureAnywhere.

I have a game that has an error(specifically, certain game models turning invisible) while SecureAnywhere is on. The problem stops happening if I click "Suspend" next to "Protection has been active for X Months, X Days, X Time." Is there any way to prevent Webroot from messing with it so I don't have to turn off my protection while playing?

Please use plain text.
TripleHelix
Posts: 5,352
Topics: 401
Kudos: 3,249
Ideas: 5
Solutions: 420
Registered: ‎02-03-2012

Re: How to prevent a program from being blocked by SecureAnywhere.

[ Edited ]

Hello Roy and Welcome to the Webroot Community Forums!

 

Your issue could be as simple as getting some files White listed in order to do that can you Please contact the WSA support inbox and they will be happy to help you! https://www.webrootanywhere.com/servicewelcome.asp?

 

Thanks,

 

TH

coollogo_com-133794099.gif


asapvip.png   SigSVIP.png    Sr.Expert Advisor Jan 23 2014.png


Webroot® SecureAnywhere™ Internet Security Complete 2014 Beta Tester v8.0.4.70 on my main system Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit & on Win XP 32bit, Win Vista 32bit, Win 7 32bit, Win 8.1 Pro 32bit & 64bit all on VM's. 


MVP.gif.pngMicrosoft® MVP Consumer Security 2012/15


New to the Community? Register now and start posting!

Please use plain text.
New Voice
RoyStephens
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-09-2012

Re: How to prevent a program from being blocked by SecureAnywhere.

[ Edited ]

Do I have to have you guys do it? Is there really no way to add it myself? I'm probably not going to do it if I have to go through all the trouble of downloading that program and sending you guys that info the support guy requested...

Please use plain text.
pegas
Posts: 1,677
Topics: 71
Kudos: 756
Ideas: 17
Solutions: 67
Registered: ‎02-23-2012

Re: How to prevent a program from being blocked by SecureAnywhere.

[ Edited ]

RoyStephens wrote:

Do I have to have you guys do it? Is there really no way to add it myself? I'm probably not going to do it if I have to go through all the trouble of sending you guys that info the support guy requested...


TH is right, writing in to support is the best option because with the sent support ticket some logs are collected and sent together. So they would be able to whitelist without any other action.

 

Though if you are not going to contact support you can check in Protected Applications and/or Detection Configuration if by chance files of your game aren't blocked. Also take a look in Control Active Processes and check if an exe.file of the game is not blocked or monitored, if so change to allow.

Sr. Expert Advisor

Please use plain text.
MikeR
Posts: 1,630
Topics: 136
Kudos: 743
Solutions: 427
Registered: ‎02-15-2012

Re: How to prevent a program from being blocked by SecureAnywhere.

Thanks TH and Pegas. :smileyhappy:

 

The best route as they advised is Opening a Support Ticket so that everyone with similar issues can have the program or .exe whitelisted. Please follow the instructions Pegas gave as this issue sounds like there is a .exe being Blocked or Monitored by SecureAnywhere. You will need to set the .exe associated with the game to Allow as he advised if you wish to handle it yourself and skip the whitelisting process (Directions/Screenshots below).

 

This may take just as much time however, because you might need to contact the game manufacturer's support team to figure out which .exe it is.

 

Navigate to PC Security>Firewall>View Network Applications

ViewNetworkApplications.png

 

 

Find the .exe associated with your game and set it to Allow

NetworkApplications.png

Please use plain text.
Retired Webrooter
Retired Webrooter
Kit
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎01-19-2012

Re: How to prevent a program from being blocked by SecureAnywhere.

The support contact is a 3-minute endeavor, since you just have to select a dropdown and say you're having problems with the game.  Everything else is automated for you.

 

I'm curious what game it is though, for some specific reasons.  There have been reports with certain games and certain video card drivers recently of inconsistent texture loading regardless of the AV used.


Kit - Prior Webroot Quality Assurance / Prior Webroot Escalation Engineer

Please use plain text.
New Voice
RoyStephens
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-09-2012

Re: How to prevent a program from being blocked by SecureAnywhere.

The game is Warlords Battlecry. And I did message the support, what I was saying was that they wanted me to donwload some program which would get then a file where they could then whitelist it for me. I really don't want to have to go through all that trouble, so I'm just shutting down Webroot everytime I play, then turning it back on afterwards.

 

P.S. It's not blocked under Firewall or anything, like the other people said.

Please use plain text.
TripleHelix
Posts: 5,352
Topics: 401
Kudos: 3,249
Ideas: 5
Solutions: 420
Registered: ‎02-03-2012

Re: How to prevent a program from being blocked by SecureAnywhere.

[ Edited ]

What support wants is to gather scan logs so they can see the files that need whitelisting that's all!

 

Examples: [U] Unknown file [G] Known Good file

 

[U] c:\program files (x86)\mozilla firefox\gkmedias.dll [MD5: EA681CF899B9B554F2176FFD51152DB6] [Flags: 00081000.3024]
[U] c:\program files (x86)\trojan remover\trjscan.exe [MD5: DF595C994B7CE041531EDE8A7AE0EDC5] [Flags: 40081000.2078]
[U] c:\program files (x86)\trojan remover\rmvtrjan.exe [MD5: 32146AC872855DF15135CFC8248F55EA] [Flags: 40081000.2079]
[U] c:\program files (x86)\mozilla firefox\mozjs.dll [MD5: D15A6035190A4174DD3AFFBB04AE34E9] [Flags: 00081000.3018]
[U] c:\program files (x86)\mozilla firefox\components\browsercomps.dll [MD5: C3FEB8591EA7016FADCF1E4C6EB38257] [Flags: 00081000.3029]
[U] c:\program files (x86)\trojanhunter 5.5\rulefiles\gen.dll [MD5: 711B4EB050CD9DE2B873EE504BADB721] [Flags: 00080000.2973]
[U] c:\$mbr.1 [MD5: 0AA71DAA1D9E48106DE57E9272C14F6F] [Flags: 00000000.2082]
[U] c:\program files (x86)\mozilla firefox\mozsqlite3.dll [MD5: 3232FAD9011F5629B2BC3153A9BC11EB] [Flags: 00081000.3021]
[U] c:\program files (x86)\mozilla firefox\mozglue.dll [MD5: 3EF87ADF243C145B6B34235771A00E27] [Flags: 00081000.3013]
[U] c:\program files (x86)\mozilla firefox\nspr4.dll [MD5: 481CBD8E3588936BD1DB0F7F91AE4669] [Flags: 00081000.3016]
[U] c:\program files\vs revo group\revo uninstaller pro\revouninpro.exe [MD5: 5DCC9E6A5D08081380AB916EFF450819] [Flags: 50091000.2080]

 

[G] c:\program files (x86)\mozilla maintenance service\uninstall.exe [MD5: 9663D3AE5F89AB217F8E589C3466B239] [Flags: 00000000.3028]
[G] c:\windows\syswow64\cryptnet.dll [MD5: CA79539D3D4C0BA66F0F051A5EE5E923] [Flags: 00000000.3075]
[G] c:\windows\sysnative\wintrust.dll [MD5: AA06902362B1422D7A7DA7061E07C624] [Flags: 00010001.3081]
[G] c:\windows\sysnative\cryptsvc.dll [MD5: 9C01375BE382E834CC26D1B7EAF2C4FE] [Flags: 00010000.3084]
[G] c:\windows\syswow64\wintrust.dll [MD5: 17448AF0BBA9E7AB5EC955AF93F271BD] [Flags: 00000001.3083]
[G] c:\windows\syswow64\crypt32.dll [MD5: 60D21799A4AF4EDCE65FB98830E4B0C8] [Flags: 00000000.3085]

 

TH

coollogo_com-133794099.gif


asapvip.png   SigSVIP.png    Sr.Expert Advisor Jan 23 2014.png


Webroot® SecureAnywhere™ Internet Security Complete 2014 Beta Tester v8.0.4.70 on my main system Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit & on Win XP 32bit, Win Vista 32bit, Win 7 32bit, Win 8.1 Pro 32bit & 64bit all on VM's. 


MVP.gif.pngMicrosoft® MVP Consumer Security 2012/15


New to the Community? Register now and start posting!

Please use plain text.
Retired Webrooter
Retired Webrooter
Kit
Posts: 359
Registered: ‎01-19-2012

Re: How to prevent a program from being blocked by SecureAnywhere.

Interesting.

 

So first, the Firewall is not the proper place to check for it having problems.  "Control Active Processes" is the location to look for it being monitored.

In the System Tools tab, go to System Control on the left, then click "Start" under Control Active Processes.  Look for whether any WB processes that are currently running are set to "Monitor".

 

More specifically, are you playing Warlords Battlecry original, II, or III?  I'm intrigued because there are numerous mentions online of missing graphics in all three games completely unrelated to WSA, so I'm curious to check the cloud settings on the game and whether anything else is interacting.  I've seen things like that happen in cases where trainers or cheat engines are used (they interact with the memory of the game, but if we trust the game but not the trainer, we protect the game's memory to a degree and the trainer breaks things instead of training), or when there is an underlying problem with things in the game program itself (like the early beta of Planetside 2).  I'm curious to find out what's going on, since it's unique to your system at this time and may imply underlying issues that we are uncovering.


Kit - Prior Webroot Quality Assurance / Prior Webroot Escalation Engineer

Please use plain text.
New Voice
RoyStephens
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-09-2012

Re: How to prevent a program from being blocked by SecureAnywhere.

Well, the game works when I run it through Steam, so I really don't care anymore.

Please use plain text.