Solved

Backup issue - lack of documentation explaining how it works.

  • 23 September 2021
  • 1 reply
  • 100 views

What happens when i got a BACKUP folder of my whole d: drive and a file is being deleted on my local hard drive?

I do not sync any files, only simple backup.

If i delete file from original location, would online storage still contain it or not?

Which way can i compare and delete files that are already deleted on local disk D: - is there any marker?

If there is no marker i will just review local files and re-push 15GB every week, which is not nice for your transfer and my time. -Should i sync instead?

If the backup is ‘incremental only with no markers or history’ it would be nice to know by the manual.

 

Another thing i’ve noticed - .reg files are excluded due to ‘System and hidden file’ rule. Many people store registry exports in such files as documents… Maybe .reg is not that much ‘system file’?

TIA

icon

Best answer by Ssherjj 24 September 2021, 02:01

View original

1 reply

Userlevel 7
Badge +62

Hello @silveregg ,

Great questions! Let me try to give you some documentation of Back up & Sync.

 If your SecureAnywhere edition includes Backup & Sync, you can protect your important files and photos as follows:

  • Storing files in the Anywhere folder or in your own sync folders. You can use Webroot's preconfigured folder called the Anywhere folder or you can create your own sync folders. Any files you place in these folders are automatically synchronized in your account, to any other computers with shared folders, and to mobile devices with the Backup & Sync app installed.

    SecureAnywhere constantly monitors the Anywhere folder and other sync folders. If it detects a change (an edited file, a new file, or a deleted file), it immediately makes the same change to your online account, to shared folders on other computers, and to mobile devices with the Backup & Sync app installed. If you are working offline, SecureAnywhere automatically picks up changes the next time you connect to the Internet.

    If SecureAnywhere detects an edited file, it does not overwrite the original version stored in your account. Instead, it uploads the latest version and makes a copy of the original file. If necessary, you can revert back to previous versions (up to five). If you save changes a sixth time, your most recent version is saved and the oldest version is removed.

    To learn more about the preconfigured Anywhere folder, see Synchronizing files.

    To create sync folders of your own, see Adding sync folders.
     
  • Backing up files. Instead of synchronizing files with multiple devices, you can simply back them up. For example, you may want to back up tax returns, old photos, and a scanned copy of your passport. These types of documents won't change and don't need to be kept in synchronization with other computers.

    To learn more about backups, see Backing up files.
  • Look HERE &  HERE

Hope this helps?

Reply